Top Secret Pizza Recipe

26 Mar

Hello Everyone!

I’ve decided to create a blog with all my fantastic cooking and baking recipes. I love to experiment and try new things and I want to share what I already know and what I learn with my culinary endeavors. A lot of the times, I don’t cook with a recipe so I’ll do my best to guesstimate the proper measurements so you all can replicate it at your home!

As I get more experienced with the blog, I will be setting up a recipe index so recipes may be more easily found.

I would like to thank my mother for passing on all her skills to me, especially the ability to throw random ingredients into a pot and having it come out tasting wonderful. I would also like to thank my grandparents Gerald and Darlene, as they both taught me a lot in the kitchen.

Lastly, I would like to thank my snuggle bear Naomi Bussinger for setting up this blog for me, as it was beyond my mental capability. Also, a team effort thanks goes out to Greg Sawyer and Marcianne Alves for collectively coming up with the name Ginger Yaps, since I have red hair and I tend to yap a lot.

I decided to start with my recipe for my famous homemade pizza. And when I say homemade, I mean dough and sauce. There are some instances where I’ll allow a storebought crust, but other than that, no excuses. It’s so easy! Just by having those two things made from scratch makes a huge difference.

As of late, I am completely obsessed with whole wheat recipes. If you can find a way to sneak in a little more healthy stuff without having it taste like cardboard, I say go for it. In my experience, I’ve found that if you use entirely whole wheat flour without mixing in some white flour,  it makes things super nutty. They also make whole wheat white flour, which I’m pretty sure is the same thing as mixing the two flours, so if you can find that flour that would work as well.

I’ve made sauce two different ways: with diced tomatoes and with tomato sauce. My mom taught me how to make it with diced tomatoes where you cook it down and smash the chunks with a potato masher, but lately I’ve been using tomato sauce. This recipe takes literally five minutes and it tastes amazing. So like I said, no excuses for storebought sauce.

If you don’t already have a pizza tile, I think it’s a good piece of equipment to have, but if you don’t a cookie sheet works fine. Just sprinkle either surface with a little cornmeal to make the bottom of the dough crunchy.

Sounds easy, right? That’s because it is! Baking with yeast can sometimes scare people but just as long as you remember to put it in (I’ve forgotten a few times) you should have no problems. If you master these recipes and are able to whip up some homemade pizza for a group of friends coming over, then everyone will think you’re absolutely fabulous and talented. Which you are, of course.

Pizza Sauce-enough for one pizza

  • One small can of tomato sauce
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic; chopped
  • 1 tsp Italian Herb Seasoning
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat up a small pan on medium heat. Cook garlic in pan with a little bit of oil until softened, being careful not to let it burn. Put in tomato sauce along with seasoning. Cook until slightly thickened, about five minutes. That’s it!

If you keep the garlic chunks slightly large, they almost roast while cooking the pizza and add extra smokey flavor.

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough-makes one 12 inch pizza

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups white flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp yeast
  • 1 cup lukewarm water (+1-2 tblspoons)
  • 2 tblspoons olive oil

Mix together dry ingredients in a large bowl until combined. Add in wet ingredients and mix in your stand up mixer on low for five minutes, or knead by hand for the same amount of time. Put in a greased bowl covered with a towel in a warm place to rise for one hour; pull out and punch down the dough on a floured cutting board and let rise for an additional 20 minutes. Roll into desired shape and top with sauce and your favorite ingredients. Cook in a 450 degree oven for 13-15 minutes. To check if it’s done, look at the bottom of the pizza with a spatula and check to see if it’s browned.

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Top Secret Pizza Recipe”

  1. Naomi March 27, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    Your blog rox my sox! 🙂 Seriously, never knew making a delicious homemade pizza could be that easy, inexpensive and fast!! ❤

  2. Auntie Joanne March 27, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Good timing, Uncle Bob is trying to master the art of making pizza dough. I will have him try this one.

    • gingeryaps March 27, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

      I really like the whole wheat dough because it makes it extra chewy. If you guys don’t like that recipe, I have a good one that uses all white flour and it makes enough for two pizzas and you’re able to freeze the extra one.

      • Auntie Joanne March 28, 2011 at 1:13 am #

        Yes, please post the white flour recipe. I told Uncle Bob about the wheat and he would rather have white.

Leave a Reply

