Mini Greek Feast

9 Apr

So as I was sitting here trying to think up how to start off this blog, out of the corner of my eye I see my cat with his paw up in the air, ready to strike a piece of my chocolate chip cookie with one of those swats cats reserve for when they’re not quite sure what something is but it scares them shitless.

I know you know which one I’m talking about.

Anyways the other day I was having a craving for grilled chicken. The weather was nice and it made me wish I had a bbqer. Somehow that turned into pork and grilled pork turned into this crazy Greek pita sandwich thing I concocted in my head. I decided to pair that with roasted potatoes and garlic.

The potatoes are easy enough. Chop them into one bite pieces and toss them with olive oil, garlic cloves, rosemary and salt and pepper. I roasted them at a 425 degree oven for about 30ish minutes. Make sure you check on them halfway through to flip them around so the entire potato gets all crusty and awesome.

Now for the pork. If I would’ve had this craving a little earlier in the day, I probably would have marinated the chops with the oil and seasonings and garlic for a few hours, but alas I did not. I settled for using the same seasonings I used on the taters and rubbing them in with olive oil. What I like to do is turn the pan about to medium high heat and sear each side of the meat so it gets really crispy, and then turn the pan down so the meat doesn’t burn. I don’t know if this is the proper way to do that, but that’s the way I do it and it works for me.

The good thing about this recipe is you can substitute any type of meat you’d like. You can use chicken, lamb, or beef. Or you can even grill up some eggplant or portebello mushrooms if you feel like being all veggie.

This was my first time making Tzaziki sauce and it was super easy. I used regular yogurt as opposed to Greek yogurt, because Greek yogurt is so thick it would be more like a spread rather than a sauce. This recipe makes four servings, but I lathered it into my pitas so it only filled two pitas. If you’re planning on serving four people or you would like extra, I recommend doubling it.

Yogurt is a really healthy alternative for sour cream or mayo. I use it a lot in baking, but unfortunately when you cook yogurt it looses all the healthy bacteria, but it still retains the calcium and what not. Even if you’re not a fan of yogurt, I still recommend this sauce. It’s not a super strong flavor and it’s a lot better for you than mayo or sour cream.

So I filled my whole wheat pitas with the sliced pork, tzaziki sauce, crumbled feta and cucumbers. I realized about halfway through this process that I wished I had some olives to throw in there, so make sure you don’t forget the olives!

Yes, I massacred the pita a bit. And yes, it doesn’t look that pretty. But man it tasted good. And the bonus is I didn’t feel guilty after eating it! I didn’t count the calories but my guess is it’s less than that Big Mac you were probably contemplating eating so I say, make this instead. It’s so easy. And if I have most of these ingredients already in my pantry, I’m thinking you do too.

I thought I’d also share with you that as I was writing that last bit, a man in a bright red sweater walked by my window. He had raven black hair in a bun and a grey beard. Anyone want to take bets on which of his hair colors is natural?

Oh Sonora you never cease to amuse me.

Tzaziki Sauce: Serves 4

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1/4 cup peeled cucumber, seeded and diced

2 teaspoons minced green onion

1 clove garlic, crushed

Mix ingredients together and chill. Told ya it was easy.

Roasted Potatoes: Serves 2ish

2 medium sized potatoes

10 cloves of garlic

salt

pepper

rosemary

olive oil

Chop up the potatoes into bite size pieces. Smash and peel the garlic. Toss garlic and potatoes with seasoning and olive oil. Throw onto a greased cookie sheet and roast for about 30 minutes and a 425 degree oven.

Pork Pitas: Serves 2

2 small pork chops

cucumber

feta cheese

two pitas

Tzaziki Sauce

Olives

Salt, pepper, rosemary

Wash and trim fat of pork chops. Rub in seasonings with olive oil. Cook over medium heat for about 20 minutes or until cooked all the way through. Slice into small pieces. Stuff pork and toppings into pitas. Serve with roasted potatoes. Enjoy!

One Response to “Mini Greek Feast”

  1. Naomi April 9, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    This looks REALLY yummy 🙂 I’m gonna try it next time I go grocery shopping.

Leave a Reply

