It’s a bird..it’s a plane…it’s a giant cookie!

10 Apr

So everytime I open my cupboard to get a glass or some flour, one of the leftover cans of V8 juice from when I made tomato soup is there glaring down at me. It’s like it’s judging me for refusing to drink it. I don’t care if it has two servings of vegetables! I don’t care if it’s more healthier than the giant cookie I’m about to make! Maybe one day I’ll mix it with some vodka and chug it down. After I substitute the V8 juice with some cranberry juice instead.

It’s just as healthy, if not even more so.

I decided to once again ignore the call of the healthy juice and instead opted to make a big friggin cookie. This recipe was sent to me courtesy of Naomi and I was intrigued. I don’t know what it is about really small things or ridiculously large things that always attract the attention of girls. Exhibit A….

I had no reason to buy that pen. I don’t even use that pen. The only reason I bought it is because it is ridiculously huge and I therefore had to have it. Anyways, I digress….

I’m a big proponent in having cute and colorful kitchen accesories. Why have a plain white measuring cup when you can have it in lime green or red. This cookie dough recipe called for all whole wheat flour but I did half whole wheat and half white flour. Gives it the right amount of nuttiness and didn’t make it too dry. The two sticks of butter in there might’ve helped that though.

There aren’t any special tricks with making this cookie dough. It’s pretty basic. The exciting part happens when you put it into the skillet.

It goes magically from looking like this, to looking like this….

Yes I went a little hog wild and added more chocolate chips on top of the cookie. The recipe told me to! But I also added a lot of chocolate too the batter so it was a tad sugary. So take my advice and go easy on the chocolate chip. Cooking the cookie in the skillet adds an interesting flavor. On some of the edge pieces you get a skillety flavor (not in a bad way) and it makes it more of a cakey consistency. I only cooked it for 45 minutes and I wish I would’ve let it go 5 minutes more. It’s probably somewhat impossible to cook it all the way through without burning the bottom and I suppose the brownie like consistency could be something that is desired, but take my advice and let it go a hair longer.

It was yummy though!

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Skillet Cookie Recipe

Adapted from 101 cookbooks

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cups white flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinammon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

2 sticks cold butter chopped into pieces with more to butter the skillet (don’t you dare spray that skillet with Pam!)

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup gran. sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups chocolate chips with about 1/4 cup reserved for the top

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees with a rack in the middle. Butter a 10 or 11 inch ovenproof skillet that is at least 2 inches deep. If the skillet is too small, you’re gonna make a big ol’ mess.

Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl.

In another large bowl, or a stand up mixer, add teh butter and the sugars. Mix until the butter and sugars are blended, about 2 minutes with the mixer on low speed. Don’t forget to scrap down the sides! Add the eggs one at a time mixing until each is combined. Mix in the vanilla. Add the flour mixture to the bowl and blend on low speed until the flour is barely combined, about 20 seconds. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl.

Add most of the chocolate to the batter. Mix just until the chocolate is evenly incorporated. Scoop into the skillet, pressing it onto an even layer. Sprinkle remaining choclate across teh top, and casually press into the dough a bit.

Bake the cookie for 35-45 (maybe 50) minutes or until the dough is deep golden brown along the edge, and the center has set. Remove from oven and let cool a bit before slicing into .

Presto manifesto! Giant cookie! It is excellent when eatenwith vanilla ice cream. So I hear.

Leave a Reply

