Top Secret Pizza Recipe #2

10 Apr

I don’t know if you guys have seen the movie called Yes Man. It has Jim Carrey in it and he’s kind of a terd but this movie is okay. I like the idea behind it, saying yes to everything. Now I personally wouldn’t say yes to everything but it’s a good way to think. How many times do we say no to different experiences just because we’re afraid of what might happen? I know I probably do it more often than not.

Anyways that movie’s on right now so I thought I’d share that with you.

My lovely cousin Farah came to visit this weekend so I thought I’d take it as an opporunity to make white flour pizza dough. I hadn’t ever made her my famous pizza before (I don’t think) so it would kill two birds with one stone.

What I like about this recipe is how it makes enough for two pizzas and you’re able to freeze the other dough if you’re not going to use it that night. What you do is after it rises, split the dough in two and spray the inside of a plastic bag with Pam and plop the dough in there. I wouldn’t really keep it in your freezer for more than a month, it tends to get weird. All you have to do is the day before you want to make pizza is put it in your fridge to defrost and then it’s good to go for the next day.

Not too shabby, eh?

It took us about ten tries to get a picture that I didn’t look completely retarded in. And we still couldn’t manage to get all the pizza in the shot!

Leftover giant cookie and ice cream for dinner? I say yes!

Pizza Dough- 2 (12 inch) crusts

1 3/4 cup warm water

1 package active dry yeast or 2 1/2 tsp

2 tsp salt

4 1/2 to 5 cups flour

3 tablespoons olive oil

Cornmeal- for pan

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Remember, if you’re using a pizza tile, have it in the oven while it preheats so it gets up to temperature. If you put a cold tile in a smokin hot oven it’ll just crack and then you’ll be SOL.

Mix water and yeast and let sit for ten minutes. Mix salt and two cups flour. Pour in yeast and water mixture. Add olive oil. Add the remaining flour, one cup at a time. Dump on well-floured board and knead 15 turns.

Place in a greased bowl and let rise for 45 minutes in a warm place. Punch down and then divide in half. Top with your favorite sauce and toppings and cook 18-20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

