Attack of the Giant Cookie Part Deux

12 Apr

I think I need to grow a backbone. I share my parking space with the store underneath my apartment and the old couple who now runs the store usually takes up both parking spaces, leaving me to park on the street and move my car every two hours so I don’t get a ticket. I know I should just go up to them and say, “We both pay rent in this building and I have a right to one of the parking spots and it’s not fair that your old handicap butts takes up both spaces!!!” but every time I have the opportunity to say something to the old man, I chicken out.

He calls me tiger or sweetheart and I can’t bring myself to tell him to park two blocks away and hobble his old self to his store, while my young spritely self parks in the close spot. So I say nothing.

Look who thought he was being super sneaky in the closet. Like I wouldn’t hear him right behind me knocking everything over. Sheesh.

Let me tell you something about this cookie batter. It has vegetable oil in it. I haven’t really run into that ingredient too often in cookies; I more often than not find it in cakes. But what it does is make this cookie cake-like. Which is awesome in my opinion.

OH! and what I love even more about these sugar cookies is you don’t have to roll them out! You just refrigerate them for an hour and scoop them out and plop them on the pan. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Yes I put pink sprinkles. Deal with it.

I know it’s hard to tell, but these things get huge. The batter is so soft that they just kind of spread out. What I love about these cookies is the center. It’s still a little undercooked so it’s still got that yummy raw cookie dough flavor. These cookies remind me of the sugar cookies I used to get at the mall when I was like three years old, where my biggest worry was whether or not I’d get said sugar cookie as opposed to now, when it’s why my car is sounding like it has a bunch of gravel rolling around in the engine.

Look, no octopus plate!

Oops.

Giant Vanilla Sugar Cookies

from Joy the Baker

makes 1 dozen 4-inch cookies or 2 dozen 2-inch cookies

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup granulated sugar, plus additional for sugaring tops

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract, or the seeds of 1 vanilla bean

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper, or foil, or grease generously with butter or cooking spray.

Using a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter in a large bowl on medium speed for about 1 minute.  Add the vegetable oil.  It may not fully incorporate with the butter, but that’s ok.  Add the granulated sugar, powdered sugar, egg and vanilla, beating on medium speed until each ingredient is completely incorporated.

Stir in the flour, baking soda and salt all at once using a wooden spoon or the mixer set on low.

The dough will be soft.

Refrigerate the dough for 1 hour or freeze for 15 minutes just so it’s easier to handle.

For large cookies, dollop 2 Tablespoons of cookie dough onto the cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.  For smaller cookies use 1 Tablespoon for each cookie.  Press the dough evenly with your fingers or palm to 1/4-inch thickness.  Generously sprinkle sugar on top of the cookie dough.

Bake for 12 to 14 minutes for larger cookies or 8 to 10 minutes for smaller cookies.  Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for at least 10 minutes before transferring to racks to cool completely.  The cookies will keep for up to 3 days if stored in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

