Vegetarian Pad Tai and Grapefruit Martinis

23 May

So since I decided to go on strike and give up men, I’ve had a lot of free time on my hands. I re organized my balcony, I hung up a new planter, I cleaned out my bathroom cupboard.

And most importantly, I went Asian. Asian food I mean.

My friend Marcianne and I went to our local farmer’s market a few weeks ago and she bought some fava beans. Now the only thing I know about fava beans is that Hannibal Lector likes them with a side of human brain so I was a little leery about them. But they are quite interesting little veggies.

Fava beans have a cute little sleeping bag that they hang out in. You pop open the pod, and inside are the little beans. You blanch those beans for a couple of minutes and then after they’ve cooled, you pop the actual bean out of their shell. It seems like a lot of hoop jumping for a bean, but like I said, I have a lot of time on my hands.

I guess I should start at the beginning and explain why I got some unusual vegetables. I want to experiment and try something new, so I asked my mom to pick me up fava beans at the market and another unusual vegetable and I would create something out of it. She brought me the beans and baby bok choy.

I was a little intimidated by the bok choy at first, but after doing some research, it’s basically the Asian version of cabbage. My fears were abated.

Marcianne said her bok choy was “young, sweet and tender.” Now I have never described food as that, it sounds more like something Humbert Humbert would say when describing Lolita, but I suppose it is a very descriptive and accurate assessment of the veggie.

My mom always said that the more colorful the dish, the healthier it is. I wasn’t quite sure what to do with my Asian veggies, so after doing some research I decided to brown red onions with garlic, some basil, zucchini, bok choy and fava beans. I also cooked pad tai noodles for the first time.

I used jarred pad tai sauce. I’m sorry. But honestly I wouldn’t have half the ingredients for the sauce so hey, you do what you gotta do.

The great thing about this recipe is you basically can do whatever you want with it. You can add chicken or shrimp or swap out different vegetables.

And…as promised…martinis.

My dear grapefruit…I bought a whole bag of you and your family with the hopes of eating you as a part of a nutritious breakfast, but alas I’ll just do to you what I usually to do other things when they’re about to go bad. Add booze.

Deliciosity.

Vegetarian Pad Tai: (I didn’t put measurements for each ingredient that way you can adjust it for how many people you’re serving)

red onion

garlic

salt and pepper

zucchini

baby bok choy

fava beans

red bell pepper

basil

Pad Tai sauce

noodles

Brown together the onions, pepper, and garlic. Add zucchini and let soften. Add the basil and fava beans. After it cooks for a while, add the bok choy. Let it cook for a few minutes and then add a little water to the pan and cover. This lets the bok choy wilt down, it only takes about ten minutes. Add sauce according to the measurements on the back of the jar, mine said six tablespoons. Add the cooked noodles at the same time and mix with ingredients. Cook for about three to four minutes until the noodles have absorbed all the sauce. Enjoy!

How to prepare fava beans: Pop beans out of the bean pod. Blanch beans in salted boiling water for 2 minutes. Drain and let cool until you are able to handle them and pop them out of the shells.

How to prepare pad tai noodles: Bring a pot of water to a boil. Remove from heat and add the noodles. Immurse in water and let sit for eight to ten minutes. Drain and then rinse with cold water.

Grapefruit Martinis:

2 part grapefruit juice

1 lime

1 part vodka

spalsh of seltzer

Shake with ice and serve!

One Response to “Vegetarian Pad Tai and Grapefruit Martinis”

  1. Marcianne Alves May 26, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Hey Doll…little did I know I would someday gain fame by appearing as a character in someone’s food blog! But so it is. How delightful!

    Your Pad Thai looks beautiful and healthy…I agree that the little favas sure do require some prep! But they are definitely yummy. Toothsome and a little velvety. My friend Shannon said they are wonderful just simply sauteed with olive oil and garlic.

    I have a nice eggplant sitting in my fridge right now. I LOVE eggplant, was thinking of doing another Asian inspired dish centered around the eggplant. I LOVE it caramelized with plum sauce but I’ve never done that myself. Maybe you can come over and we can experiment…

    Love your blog! Such a clever and creative chica you are! 😉

    Marmar

Leave a Reply

