Happy Memorial Day!

28 May

I’m a bad American.

I hate drinking beer. I refused to eat hot dogs once I found out that one hot dog has sixteen grams of fat in it and we all know, one hot dog is not enough. You always have to have two. I don’t watch American Idol. I’d much rather go to Paris, France than Paris, Texas.

I get Labor Day and Memorial Day confused. I get it confused with Cesar Chavez Day. I get it confused with Arbor Day. I say, they make one huge holiday in which they celebrate all the tiny American traditions in one day and just be done with it.

I also work in retail so these holidays do me no good as I have to work on them while the rest of the country has it off and comes into my place of business thus creating mass chaos and giving me a migraine.

My dear cousin Kaleigh challanged me this Memorial Day weekend to create either a dessert or a cocktail involving the colors red, white and blue and I gladly accepted.

I decided to make a fruit tart using fruits bought at my local farmer’s market. They were freaking expensive but totally worth it. Probably.

While I was making the tart, I started thinking about when I was a little kid and hanging out at my granny’s with my brother, Kaleigh, and her sister. I remember once, they told me Dracula lived in my granny’s closet and then they locked me in said closet until I was let out by my granny because she heard me screaming that Dracula was going to come and get me.

Ah, memories.

This is a super easy recipe. The crust has a little bit of cornmeal in it which gives it a little extra crunch. You then slather the baked crust with a cream cheese filling. I accidentally put lemon juice in the filling, but I’m not sure if it made a huge difference.

You then coat the fruit with a yummy aprioct glaze. It calls for apricot nector but all I had was canned apricots that were canned by my mother so I used the syrup from that. The original recipe also called for cornstarch but I think it made the glaze too thick so I would leave that out next time, or at least decrease the quantity they ask for.

I had to cut myself a little slice to make sure it wasn’t poisonous. I’m bringing the rest into work tomorrow and I guarantee at least five people will ask me where I bought it.

People still make stuff from scratch! Not everyone has succumbed to the storebought, premade, prefabricated, pour from a box and just add water way of life.

And that is what makes me un-American.

Fresh Fruit Tart

Dough

6 tbs butter, softened

1/4 cup sugar

1 cup flour

2 tb cornmeal

2 tb lemon juice

Filling

1 8 oz package cream cheese, softened

3 tb sugar

2 tb milk (I used water)

1/2 tsp almond extract

2 cups berries

Glaze

2 tb sugar

1 1/2 tsp corn starch

1/3 cup apricot nector

2 tsp lemon juice

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Blend softened butter with sugar. Add in remaining ingredients. Press dough into a tart pan and cook for 9 to 11 minutes. Let cool on wire rack.

Blend cream cheese with sugar, milk and extract. Spread into cooled crust. Arrange berries on top of cheese filling. Put in the fridge while you make the glaze.

Bring glaze ingredients to a boil and cook for one minute until the corn starch is dissolved. Let glaze cool and brush over fruit.

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Happy Memorial Day!”

  1. Naomi May 28, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    This looks delicious good job! 🙂

  2. Dad May 29, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Looks great, where’s my piece?

Leave a Reply

