Farmer’s Market Challange Part Two

13 Jun

So I haven’t been a good blogger. I’m sorry. But I have good excuses!

Now that I got a promotion, I’ve been working crazy days with only one day off and I usually spend that day zoning off into space daydreaming about chocolate. And then last week, I got….the stomach flu.

Yeah the stomach flu. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Actually, I’ll fess up, I had a pretty gnarly hangover courtesy of cake vodka with sangria. This cake flavored vodka is a close relative to whipped cream flavored vodka. Anything that’s flavored like any type of dessert or baked good is just no bueno. It brings out your dark-secret telling-dancing-picture drawing-oujia board playing side which is good for no one.

Also, side note, when I plugged in my computer to download the pictures I took for this blog, I discovered that we also took pictures from the night of the cake vodka party. It made my day.

Anyways, back to business now.

My challange was red onions, carrots and kale from the farmer’s market. Honestly, I didn’t know what the heck I was going to do with these veggies until I started chopping them up. I decided to make a casserole out of them.

I’m totally obsessed with pad tai noodles. I browned up the veggies with chopped chicken and some canned tomoatoes.

I topped it with bread crumbs and cheese. I know I’m supposed to be on a diet but it was a cheese kind of day.

There’s really no recipe for this. This is how I usually cook. I throw together a bunch of random ingredients and toss it in a dish and top it with cheese. Sometimes it turns out good, sometimes it’s a little weird. This turned out pretty good. The kale had a nice mild flavor and the carrotts tasted extra carrotty.

So experiment.

4 Responses to “Farmer’s Market Challange Part Two”

  1. Naomi June 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    This looks AWESOME!

  2. Mom June 14, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    that was yellow swiss chard……but it does look yummy

    • gingeryaps June 14, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      You told me it was kale woman!

      • Mom June 15, 2011 at 8:33 am #

        I don’t recall that……

Leave a Reply

