Whipped Vanilla Bean Frosting

29 Aug

So I am writing this blog from my iPhone which is highly irritating but I don’t have the Internet anymore nor do I feel like driving to Safeway or Starbucks to use their wifi so I am stuck to typing this out on a teeny tiny keyboard.

Another unfortunate thing about using the phone is I don’t know how to upload photos from it into the blog. So no pictures. Sorry kids.

What I’d like to talk about is whipped vanilla bean frosting. I was introduced to this frosting via Naomi and it’s from Sweetapolita (remember I have a cake crush on her). This frosting is so light and fluffy and when I asked Naomi why, she said its because you beat the butter for a very long time.

This is true. You beat 3 sticks of butter (hellllll yeah) for 8 minutes and then you add the vanilla, vanilla bean ( this is essential), powdered sugar and milk and you beat it again for an additional 6 minutes.

What I like about this frosting is it holds it’s shape in the heat. I left a frosting cupcake out on my table in the middle of the day for a few hours and the frosting showed no sign of melting or sagging. I wouldn’t recommend leaving it out in direct sunlight all day but this was an interesting and helpful discovery.

The vanilla bean is essential because it gives this frosting the iknowwhatimdoingbecauseimsmartenoughtosplitavanillabean look without putting in a lot of effort. The beans are expensive, but I found them at Safeway for $6 apiece and it was buy two get one free. Not too shabby. It makes the frosting extra fancy to see it speckled with little black dots. Don’t you feel fancier when you eat French vanilla ice cream as opposed to regular vanilla?

Side note-when I used to work at 31 flavors our French vanilla was yellow because it had egg yolks in it which made it French. Whaaaaat?

Anyways this is an easy, go to vanilla recipe.

My elbow and finger are started to hurt from typing. I’m done now.

Whipped Vanilla Bean Frosting

Ingredients

3 sticks + 2 tablespoons (375 grams/13 ounces) unsalted butter, softened and cut into cubes

3 cups sifted (480 grams/7 ounces) confectioners’ sugar (icing, powdered)

3 tablespoons (45 mL) milk

1 vanilla bean, scraped

1 teaspoon (5 mL) pure vanilla extract — I use Nielsen-Massey Vanillas 8-oz. Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Extract

pinch of salt

Method

1. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, whip butter for 8 minutes on medium speed (I use “4″ on my KitchenAid). Butter will become very pale & creamy.

2. Add remaining ingredients and mix on low speed for 1 minute, then on medium speed for 6 minutes. Frosting will be very light, creamy, and fluffy.

3. Best used right away.

4. You can eliminate the vanilla bean and use a total of 1 1/2 teaspoons (of pure vanilla extract.

*Adapted from Donna Hay

Leave a Reply

